Episode Information

AMERICAN EXPERIENCE: Abraham and Mary Lincoln: A House Divided
Share this Content

In this episode:

This episode tells the story of the last 16 months of the Civil War.




10PM on CPTV
(Check Listings)


Abraham and Mary Lincoln: A House Divided

Abraham Lincoln was a dirt farmer’s son determined to make something of himself. Mary Todd, the daughter of Kentucky slave owners, had unparalleled political ambition. He came to be known as the “great emancipator.” She came to be seen as a Confederate sympathizer. He would become more central to America’s image of itself than any other chief executive. She would die unnoticed and totally forgotten. Together, they ascended to the pinnacle of power at the most difficult time in the nation’s history.

David Grubin is the producer and director. Written by Geoffrey C. Ward and David Grubin. David Morse is the voice of Abraham Lincoln. Holly Hunter is the voice of Mary Todd Lincoln. David McCullough narrates.



Ambition (Episode One)
Monday, June 20, 2011, 10:00-11:00 p.m. ET

The story of the Abraham and Mary Todd Lincoln’s childhoods and their courtship.

We Are Elected (Episode Two)
Monday, July 11, 2011, 10:00-11:00 p.m. ET

The tempestuous Lincoln marriage weathers Abraham’s career in the House of Representatives and campaign for the presidency.

Shattered (Episode Three)
Monday, July 18, 2011, 10:00-11:00 p.m. ET

The Lincolns arrive in Washington with Abraham’s ability to lead in question and Mary’s sympathies suspected, and then tragedy strikes with the death of their son, Willie.

The Dearest of All Things (Episode Four)
Monday, July 25, 2011, 10:00-11:00 p.m. ET

While Mary Lincoln struggles with her grief, Abraham Lincoln becomes consumed with the nation’s tragedy and issues a defining statement of his presidency: the Emancipation Proclamation.

The Frightful War (Episode Five)
Monday, August 1, 2011, 10:00-11:00 p.m. ET

As 1863 begins, the Civil War consumes the nation and criticism of Abraham Lincoln increases, while Mary Lincoln plunges into debt.

Blind With Weeping (Episode Six)
Monday, August 15, 2011, 10:00-11:00 p.m. ET

This episode tells the story of the last 16 months of the Civil War: from Gettysburg to the surrender at Appomattox to Abraham Lincoln’s assassination.

Related Content: